feuille
MSC Program

Based on the groundbreaking research by Kristin Neff and the clinical expertise of Christopher Germer, the MSC course teaches participants how to apply core principles and useful tools to tackle challenging moments in their lives with kindness and understanding toward themselves.

MSC is a group training that focuses on skill building using practical tools and useful resources. The course includes activities such as meditations, didactic teachings, experiential learning, group discussions, inquiry, and home practices. The training focuses more on developing compassion than on learning mindfulness per se, though mindfulness is the foundation of the approach. The goal is to allow participants to experience self-compassion and become more familiar with it through activities that they can integrate naturally into their daily lives. The course is a total of 27 hours, but a 6- or 9-hour short course is also available.

 

The course focuses on developing emotional resources. Although compassion is a positive, uplifting emotion, learning about it can unearth some painful feelings. The goal is not to analyze or resolve old wounds—it is not a clinical intervention or group therapy. MSC teaches us how to be caring and understanding towards ourselves to foster beneficial changes. The teacher ensures that this process is carried out in a safe, supportive environment and that the learning experience is pleasant for all participants.

Image de Luke Porter
tim-mossholder-2RUZ3S32hi8-unsplash_edited.jpg

Program objectives

  • Practice self-compassion in daily life

  • Understand the empirical benefits of self-compassion

  • Learn how to encourage and motivate ourselves with kindness rather than criticism

  • Manage painful feelings with more ease

  • Transform challenging relationships, old and new

  • Manage caregiver fatigue

  • Practice the art of self-appreciation and the art of savoring the present moment

Useful information

The course consists of 9 weekly 3-hour sessions and includes a silent retreat, all online and live. You do not need any previous mindfulness or meditation experience to participate.

Throughout the course, it is recommended to practice self-compassion every day, gradually working up to 30 minutes daily. To fully benefit from the program, you should not miss more than 2 of the 9 sessions. 

The following reading is recommended as complimentary tools for the course:

  • The Mindful Self-Compassion Workbook: A Proven Way to Accept Yourself, Build Inner Strength, and Thrive. By Kristin Neff and Christopher Germer

  • Self-Compassion: The Proven Power of Being Kind to Yourself, by Kristin Neff

  • The Mindful Path to Self-Compassion, by Christopher Germer

kevin-young-Z5qD8T3wVvk-unsplash.jpg

Note that this MSC course provides continuing education credits from the Ordre des psychologues du Québec and is a prerequisite for obtaining the Self-Compassion in Psychotherapy for Psychotherapists (SCIP) certification. For more information, visit scipprogram.com.

Short course in MSC

The short course consists of a formal adaptation of the original training. Groups interested in this training can select either a 9- or 6-hour format, offered over 6 weekly sessions. 

The short course was developed for participants who cannot attend the original program, but who still wish to begin their MSC journey and learn targeted skills. Designed to be integrated into tight schedules, the short course accommodates even the busiest people.

feuille
Programme MSC

Basé sur les recherches avant-gardistes de Kristin Neff et l’expertise clinique de Christopher Germer, le programme MSC permet aux participants d’acquérir les connaissances de base et les outils pratiques pour aborder les moments difficiles de leur vie avec bienveillance et compréhension envers eux-mêmes. 

Le MSC est une formation de groupe axée sur l'acquisition de compétences à l'aide d’outils concrets et ressources pratiques. Les activités du programme comprennent de la méditation, de courtes conférences, des exercices expérientiels, des discussions de groupe et des pratiques à domicile. Il s’agit d’une formation à la compassion plutôt qu’à la pleine conscience, bien qu'elle en soit le fondement. L’objectif est de permettre aux participants de faire l’expérience de l’autocompassion et de se familiariser avec des pratiques qui s’inscrivent naturellement dans la vie quotidienne. La formation est d'une durée de 27 heures, mais une version abrégée de 6 ou 9 heures est également offerte.  

Le cours vise d'abord le développement de nos ressources émotionnelles. Ainsi, même si la compassion est une émotion positive et énergisante, son apprentissage peut faire ressurgir certaines émotions difficiles.  Le but n'est pas d'analyser ou de résoudre des blessures anciennes. Il ne s’agit pas d’une intervention clinique ni d’une thérapie de groupe. Le MSC nous exerce à se comporter envers nous-même de manière bienveillante et compréhensive, ce qui entraîne un changement bénéfique. Les formateurs veillent à créer un environnement sûr, favorable au déroulement du processus, et à rendre l’apprentissage agréable pour tous les participants.

Image de Luke Porter
tim-mossholder-2RUZ3S32hi8-unsplash_edited.jpg

Les objectifs du programme​

  • Pratiquer l’autocompassion dans la vie quotidienne

  • Comprendre les avantages empiriques de l’autocompassion

  • S’encourager et se motiver avec bienveillance plutôt qu’avec critique

  • Gérer les émotions difficiles avec plus d’aisance

  • Transformer les relations difficiles, anciennes et nouvelles

  • Gérer la fatigue des soignants

  • Pratiquer l’art de s’apprécier soi-même et de savourer l’instant présent.

Informations pratiques

La formation comprend 9 séances hebdomadaires de 3 heures chacune et inclut une retraite silencieuse, le tout en ligne et en direct. Aucune expérience préalable de pleine conscience ou de méditation n’est requise pour participer.

 

Durant le programme, il est recommandé de pratiquer l’autocompassion sur une base quotidienne, en tendant progressivement vers une pratique de 30 minutes par jour. Pour tirer pleinement profit de la formation, il est recommandé d'assister à au moins 7 séances sur 9.  

Les livres suivants sont recommandés comme outils d’accompagnement pour le programme :

  • Mon cahier d’autocompassion en pleine conscience : comment apprendre à s’aimer. Par Kristin Neff et Christopher Germer

  • S'aimer : comment se réconcilier avec soi-même, par Kristin Neff

  • L'Autocompassion, par Christopher Germer

kevin-young-Z5qD8T3wVvk-unsplash.jpg

Notez que ce programme donne droit à des crédits de formation auprès de l'Ordre des psychologues du Québec et est un prérequis pour l'obtention du certificat d’autocompassion en psychothérapie (SCIP). Pour plus d’informations, visitez scipprogram.com.

Le programme court MSC

Le programme court consiste en une adaptation officielle du programme original. Les groupes qui souhaitent suivre un programme court d'autocompassion en pleine conscience peuvent opter pour une format de 9 ou 6 heures, réparti en 6 séances hebdomadaires. 

Le programme court a été développé pour permettre aux participants de débuter l'apprentissage de pratiques ciblées en MSC, avec un engagement en temps moins important que celui demandé par le programme original. Conçu pour répondre aux besoins des personnes occupées, il s'intègre plus facilement dans des horaires chargés.